ICMR NIE Scientist Recruitment 2026: 8 Scientist B, C and D Posts in Chennai
On this page
In ICMR NIE Scientist recruitment 2026, a PhD counts as 4 years of experience but an MPH (Master of Public Health) counts as none. That rule decides who can try for 8 permanent scientist posts at the ICMR-National Institute of Epidemiology (NIE) in Chennai, under Adv. No. ICMR/NIE/01/2026-RPCell. The ICMR listing gives 15 October 2026 as the start of registration on its portal. The online form closes at 5:30 PM on 26 November 2026. The posts are Scientist-B, Scientist-C and Scientist-D, at Pay Levels 10, 11 and 12 (steps in the central government pay matrix). MBBS doctors, B.V.Sc. vets and postgraduates in a biomedical subject can apply, depending on the post. Scientist-C and Scientist-D also need 4 or 8 years of experience.
Four B, two C and two D seats in ICMR NIE Scientist recruitment 2026
ICMR is an autonomous body under the Department of Health Research, Union Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. NIE is one of its institutes, and these posts are at its School of Public Health. They carry all-India transfer liability, so ICMR can later post you to any of its institutes.
A Pay Level is a step in the central government pay matrix. The notice prints the pay range of each level next to it.
| Post | Pay Level (basic pay range) | Posts | Category |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scientist-D (Medical) | Level 12 (Rs 78,800 to Rs 2,09,200) | 1 | Not stated |
| Scientist-D (Non-Medical) | Level 12 (Rs 78,800 to Rs 2,09,200) | 1 | Not stated |
| Scientist-C (Medical) | Level 11 (Rs 67,700 to Rs 2,08,700) | 1 | Not stated |
| Scientist-C (Medical) (Microbiology) | Level 11 (Rs 67,700 to Rs 2,08,700) | 1 | Not stated |
| Scientist-B (Medical) | Level 10 (Rs 56,100 to Rs 1,77,500) | 2 | UR 1, SC 1 |
| Scientist-B (Non-Medical) (Disease modeling) | Level 10 (Rs 56,100 to Rs 1,77,500) | 1 | UR 1 |
| Scientist-B (Veterinary) | Level 10 (Rs 56,100 to Rs 1,77,500) | 1 | EWS 1 |
| Total | 8 |
The notice gives a category only for the Scientist-B posts: UR (unreserved), SC and EWS (Economically Weaker Sections). For the two Scientist-D and two Scientist-C posts, it gives none. Vacancy numbers are provisional and may change.
ICMR is an autonomous body, and this notice prints only pay ranges with no allowances, so this page gives no in-hand figure.
MBBS, B.V.Sc. or a biomedical master’s: which Scientist post fits your degree
- MBBS (or equivalent recognised by the Medical Council of India or the National Medical Commission, MCI/NMC): Scientist-B (Medical), Scientist-C (Medical), Scientist-C (Medical) (Microbiology) and Scientist-D (Medical).
- Master’s degree in a subject related to biomedical sciences, or a Pharm-D recognised by UGC/PCI: Scientist-B (Non-Medical) (Disease modeling) and Scientist-D (Non-Medical). UGC is the University Grants Commission and PCI the Pharmacy Council of India.
- B.V.Sc. & A.H. recognised by the Veterinary Council of India (VCI): Scientist-B (Veterinary), the single EWS post.
For Scientist-C and Scientist-D (Medical), an MD/MS, an MPH or a PhD in a biomedical subject is desirable, not essential. For Scientist-D (Non-Medical), a PhD is desirable. Desirable experience is research and development work in epidemiology or public health, shown through peer-reviewed papers, presentations, technical reports or research grants. For the Microbiology post it is work in microbiology, immunology, molecular biology, next generation sequencing and similar areas. For the Scientist-B disease modeling post it is infectious disease modeling, and for the Veterinary post it is veterinary epidemiology and public health.
How ICMR counts the 4 and 8 years for Scientist-C and Scientist-D
Scientist-C needs 4 years of experience and Scientist-D needs 8 years. The Scientist-B table lists no essential experience. The notice’s note on experience has four rules that change who qualifies:
- A PhD counts as 4 years of experience, however long it took you to finish it.
- An MD, MS or equivalent counts as 3 years of experience.
- An MPH or M.Tech counts as no experience at all.
- The time you spent getting the minimum essential degree does not count as experience.
Research and development work in biomedical sciences counts if it fits the job. It can be from a government body, the public sector or a private institution.
In our reading, the rules work out like this. An MBBS doctor with an MD and 1 year of research work reaches 4 years and fits Scientist-C (Medical). An MBBS doctor with an MPH and 3 years of work stays at 3 years, because the MPH adds nothing. For Scientist-D (Non-Medical), a PhD holder in a biomedical subject needs 4 more years of relevant work to reach 8 years.
ICMR can relax the qualification and experience for “exceptionally meritorious candidates”, with the approval of the Director-General, ICMR.
Each step from Scientist-B to D adds five years to the age limit
| Post | Upper age limit |
|---|---|
| Scientist-D | 45 years |
| Scientist-C | 40 years |
| Scientist-B | 35 years |
You must meet the eligibility rules on the last date of the application, 26 November 2026. Being overage or underage on that date is a listed reason for rejection. The notice gives no lower age limit.
The usual central government age relaxations apply, but the notice does not print the number of years for each category. The Director-General can also relax the age limit for exceptionally meritorious candidates, based on their CV and experience.
The Rs 1,500 fee exempts EWS but not OBC men
The application fee is Rs 1,500 and is not refunded. SC, ST, women, persons with disabilities (PwD) and EWS candidates are exempted. OBC candidates are not in the exempt list, so an OBC man pays Rs 1,500. The fee is paid online through the link in the form, by net banking or a bank card only.
A research methods test at the 75 percentile, an interview, or both
The notice says selection will be through a computer based test (CBT) with multiple-choice questions, an interview, or both. It does not say which of these each post will have.
The CBT tests your understanding of research methods. It is only qualifying, and the minimum is the 75 percentile. ICMR does not define the term. In the usual sense, a percentile is your rank among everyone who takes the test. At the 75 percentile you would beat about three in four candidates. So the pass mark would depend on how the whole group does.
ICMR first shortlists everyone who meets the minimum age, degree and experience rules. If too many apply, it shortlists further. The notice says ICMR generally prefers candidates with more relevant experience or higher qualifications. Do you work for a government department, a PSU or a government-funded research body? Then bring a No Objection Certificate (NOC) from your employer to the personal discussion. It must include an undertaking that you will be relieved within one month of the appointment order.
One form per post on recruitment.icmr.org.in, and the papers to upload
- Register on the ICMR recruitment portal, recruitment.icmr.org.in. The details you give at registration cannot be changed afterwards, so check your name, date of birth and category before you save.
- Log in with the user ID and password sent to your e-mail and mobile, and fill the form section by section.
- Upload self-attested copies of all qualifications from Class 10 onwards, with detailed mark sheets. Add proof of date of birth, your category certificate and your experience certificates. The notice also lists a missing MCI registration certificate as a reason for rejection, so medical candidates should upload it.
- Upload an unattested photo without a cap or goggles. Spectacles are allowed.
- Submit and pay the fee if you are not exempt. Take the final printout.
On the portal’s vacancy list, the two Scientist-C posts, Medical and Medical (Microbiology), share one application link. Each of the other five posts has its own link. Do not send a second form for the same post. The notice says duplicate applications lead to the cancellation of all of them. It also lists “more than one application form for a particular category” as a cause of rejection. No paper form is accepted. You send a hard copy only when ICMR asks for it.
For portal or payment problems, ICMR gives the helpline 011-26589167 (working days, 9:30 AM to 5:30 PM) and the e-mail query.rpcell@icmr.gov.in. Later notices about this recruitment will appear only on the ICMR website.
Seat categories for C and D, the test format and other gaps in Adv. 01/2026
- The reserved category, if any, of the two Scientist-D and two Scientist-C posts.
- Whether each post will have a CBT, an interview or both, and the dates.
- Whether you can apply for more than one post, for example Scientist-B (Medical) and Scientist-C (Medical) together. The notice does not say this directly.
- The number of years of age relaxation for each category.
Ask ICMR before you apply if any of these points affects you. The portal’s vacancy list gives an administrative enquiry line for these posts, 011-26589332 extension 293, and the e-mail rcell.hq@icmr.gov.in.
If none of the 8 NIE posts fits: MBBS and MD openings at ISRO HSFC and ESIC Joka
MBBS doctors with an MD can also look at the ISRO HSFC Medical Officer recruitment, which closes on 8 November 2026. Postgraduate doctors can check the ESIC Joka Senior Resident walk-in, listed until 4 November 2026. For more, see our health sector government jobs, Tamil Nadu government jobs and jobs for postgraduates.
Official links
- Notification Notification PDF (opens in new tab)
- Official websiteicmr.gov.in (opens in new tab)
- Photo & signatureResize photo & signature